jump to navigation

Hate Break: HOTY 4/2006 Playlist… April 22, 2006

Posted by hateroftheyear in Blogs, Music.
trackback

When I first got an iPod in 2001, I began making monthly playlists as a way to force new music into my listening rotation. Along the way, I decided to keep the mixes to about 80 minutes so that I could burn a copy for anyone who enjoyed them. Inspired by a recent visit to sound.as.language (a great read), here is my April 2006 playlist:

  • "Long Distance Runaround" – Yes (I heard The Joggers cover this song last month and it was incredible!)
  • "R.A.G.U. feat. Raekwon" – Ghostface Killah (I grew up on the Wu and my favorite tracks have always been the Ghost & Rae storyraps)
  • "Promiscuous Girl feat. Timbaland" – Nelly Furtado (I hate guilty pleasures)
  • "Unhappy" – Big Boi (Easily the best song from the OutKast double album not named "Roses")
  • "Our Swords" – Band of Horses
  • "The Great Salt Lake" – Band of Horses (Rogue Wave meets My Morning Jacket. Very derivative, but this song is amazing)
  • "Hard to Explain" – The Strokes (So maybe the new album isn't that good…)
  • "All These Things that I've Done" – The Killers
  • "This Charming Man" – The Smiths
  • "Mr. Me Too feat. Pharrell" – Clipse (Hands down, these guys are the most interesting rappers around. HOTY favorite.)
  • "Way Out" – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  • "Y-Control" – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
  • "Pink Triangle" – Weezer
  • "Tired of Sex" – Weezer
  • "I Can't Believe You're Gone" – The Webb Brothers (It's amazing to me that these guys aren't a thousand times more popular than they are.)
  • "Province" – TV on the Radio (This is from the leaked as-of-yet untitled LP. What a song)
  • "Still in Love Song" – The Stills
  • "Halo the Harpoon" – The Stills
  • "What the Snowman Learned About Love" – Stars
  • "Non-photo Blue" – Pinback

Enjoy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

